The Misconception


It took me two trips into Lounge Burger to order my first burger.

I now regret the first trip.

The first time I walked in, it was quiet. I looked around and was unimpressed. The trendy interior design and over-dressed staff forced me into a quick 180, right out the door. For the most part, I prefer smaller dive-like burger joints. Small, with a little history. Basically, I’m in it for the burger, not the decor.

The second time I walked in, I actually made it to a table. Perusing the menu, I found their “Signature.” An all beef burger topped with pepper-herb bacon, sauteed onions and cheddar cheese.

When the burger arrived, I was impressed. It was plated beautifully. As I waited for a little mustard, my heart started to sink. I’ve seen beautiful burgers before. There is no guarantee that they taste great. The best burgers I’ve ever had were served on paper that turned translucent from the burger grease. Unfortunately, there was no grease on the plate.

With the arrival of some mustard, I sacked up, looked past the aesthetic and bit in. To my delight, this was the juiciest burger I’d tasted in what felt like months. The grind was right on, and the meat tasty. In fact, the meat was so good, it almost made the bacon and cheese superfluous. Almost.

The ‘Signature,’ was impressive, and exactly what I’ve been looking for. It loses minor points for stackability, but it was pretty good all the same.

With a multitude of burger options like: ahi tuna, kobe beef, bison, elk, turkey, lamb, chicken, veal and italian sausage a return visit is guaranteed.

Nice work Lounge Burger. Nice Work.

4.2

About danbaker

I'm trying to be the best. Anything less just isn't good enough.
This entry was posted in Burgers, Calgary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

