The Institution


If there is one place in Calgary synonymous with burgers, it has to be Peter’s Drive-In. The place is famous. Opened in 1964, it’s most likely the place where anyone under 50 went for their first burger.

When I rolled up I was impressed. No seats. Two walk up windows, a drive up window and a parking lot with a couple picnic benches. True to it’s name. I hoped that the burgers stood up to legend. I should have prayed.

I ordered a double burger – loaded, an onion rings and shake. The food was ready almost immediately, and I went to sit at one of the picnic tables.

The burger that Calgary raves about were a disappointment. The patties were cookie cutters. There was no trace of the homemade aesthetic promised. Had you given the burger an orange wrapper and told me it was from Harvey’s, I wouldn’t have argued.

On the other hand, Peter’s almost made up for the burger with the sides. The portion sizes were enormous. I ordered an onion rings, and my friend ordered a small fries. Never have I seen more fried goodness for such a low price. If you head, stick with the small, anything more is just gluttony.

Like I said, I also ordered one of Peter’s famous shakes. I am compelled to say this must have been the thickest milkshake I have ever tried. I don’t know exactly how they make it, but it is the gift that remains after the meal. Too thick to drink with my burger, it was the perfect desert after a double burger and 2 tonnes of fried food. I’m not sure that it was the best shake I’ve ever had, but I do know that I’d go back for another.

All in all, an ok meal.

3.4

About danbaker

I'm trying to be the best. Anything less just isn't good enough.
This entry was posted in Burgers, Calgary. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Institution

  1. >the burgers at peter's don't matter. it's about three things: the shoebox-size fries, the 'experience', and, duh, THE FRICKIN' MILKSHAKES!!

  2. hungry dan says:

    >fair dues, the shake was good.

Leave a Reply

