The Jingle


Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun. Most know the jingle. The burger, popularized by said song in 1974, is one of the best selling burgers of all time. That’s not to say it is without it’s faults. An incredible tasting burger, suffers from it’s lackluster patties and consistently poor assembly.

McDonald’s may be one of the most popular burger joints in the world but it is synonymous with low quality beef and appalling health statistics. It makes it hard to stop in for a burger.

Every so often this is recognized by a small burger joint who reinterprets their classic.

I walked into Boogie’s Burgers and asked the gentleman behind the counter about one of their signature burgers. I was told, in so many words, ‘It’s like what a Big Mac could be.’ Craving a Big Mac, I went with the ‘Boog Mac.’

When it arrived, I was impressed. Almost triangular in shape, it was easily one of the biggest burgers I had ever seen. It was missing the middle bun, but was definitely a creative vision of a Big Mac.

Biting in, I was doubly impressed. This was a tasty burger. Two all-beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a seasame seed bun. Boogies nailed the recipe. Dead on. Basically, it was ‘what a Big Mac should be.’ I totally encourage everyone to try one; everyone has eaten at McDonalds, and everyone needs to try a better version of their classic.

I had some slight issues with the burger, but for the most part, it was great. It barely touched the paper after I picked it up. The only real problem was the patty. They were huge, but thin. It took some of the taste away from the burger. Apart from that, a little less thousand island dressing would have been ideal, but there was nothing else I would have changed.

One thing I know, is that I’ll definitely be back for another, Boogie’s will see me again.

4.0

About danbaker

I'm trying to be the best. Anything less just isn't good enough.
This entry was posted in Burgers, Calgary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

