The Measuring Stick


I could just go on reviewing burgers, but what good are a couple of words without a benchmark. How can a burger really be a 4.2 or a 1.9 without a 5.0 to properly measure it against. So for posterity, here are a couple words about my favorite burger joint, and the best burger I have ever tasted.

I first noticed The Burger’s Priest two weeks prior to walking through the doors. I still regret waiting those two weeks to get a burger.

On my first pilgrimage, a friend recommended a Double-Double. The owner’s signature burger consists of: two 4oz patties with melted American cheese slices sandwiched between a fluffy bun.

Initially, I was turned off by the double burger. It was to my delight that I underestimated the chef. To say it was incredible is a drastic understatement. From the moment I picked up the burger for my first bite, to the instant I finished it, it did not touch the tray. I could not put it down. (I have relived this experience with each successive burger I have eaten there.)

Finished in less than two minutes, all that there was left to do was smile.  After eating, I sat silently reveling in the perfection of what I had just devoured. The fresh meat (ground once an hour), pressed flat on the griddle, and grilled to perfection was flaky and chewy, and the melted slices of American cheese were the ideal compliment.  To say that I tasted the pinnacle of burgers would be a drastic understatement. If the lord himself had assembled a burger, it would have tasted just like the Double-Double.

It is easily the best burger you have never tasted. With absolute conviction, it is the reason this blog exists.

When you do make your pilgrimage to this holy place, wait for a seat. Don’t ruin this burger by taking it away, savor it as soon as it comes off the grill. It may take an extra 5 minutes to get a place to sit, but it is worth it.

4.8

About danbaker

I'm trying to be the best. Anything less just isn't good enough.
This entry was posted in Burgers, Out of Town. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

